The Indie Book Awards were established in 2008 with the aim of creating a unique award recognising and rewarding the best Australian writing as chosen by Australian independent booksellers. The Awards celebrate the enormous depth and range of literary talent in this nation.

The Indie Awards differ from other literary awards because they are chosen by independent booksellers who are renowned for their love of books and reading, support new and emerging Australia authors and foster a love of quality writing.

Category Winners2
Helen Garner2
Jane Harper WIN
Charlotte Wood Lucy Treloar
Aaron Blabey
Alison Lester
Richard Flanagan
David Hunt
Award night

All Australian independent bookshops are invited to nominate in the Indie Book Awards. Independent bookstores across the country are owned and managed by people who care about their customers, books and the art of bookselling and, most importantly, the importance of fostering strong and vibrant Australian culture and writing.


Leading Edge Books, a buying and marketing group behind 120+ independent booksellers from around Australia, are proud to coordinate the administration and promotion of the Indie Book Awards.


I am so unbelievably happy and so truly honoured that Boy Swallows Universe has won the Indie Book of the Year. This book comes from a very personal place for me, from the depths of my soul, and the wonderful indie booksellers put that story in the hands of Australian readers – this book would be nothing without those amazing booksellers.

- Trent Dalton, Indie Book Awards 2019 Book of the Year, Boy Swallows Universe