The Indie Book Awards were established in 2008 with the aim of creating a unique award recognising and rewarding the best Australian writing as chosen by Australian Independent Booksellers. The Awards celebrate the enormous depth and range of literary talent in this nation.

The Indie Awards differ from other literary awards because they are chosen by independent booksellers who are renowned for their love of books and reading, support new and emerging Australia authors and foster a love of quality writing.

Category Winners2
Helen Garner2
Jane Harper WIN
Charlotte Wood Lucy Treloar
Aaron Blabey
Alison Lester
Richard Flanagan
David Hunt
Award night

Independent booksellers are the lifeblood of Australian literary culture, an enduring bridge to the world of language, ideas and story. So many of my own personal reading discoveries over the years have come from booksellers who champion and hand-sell a book that's captured their hearts and minds. I'm eternally grateful for that!


- Dominic Smith, Indie Book Awards 2017 Fction Winner, 

The Last Painting of Sara de Vos

The Indie Book Awards are co-ordinated by Leading Edge Books, a buying and marketing group behind 140+ independent booksellers from around Australia, both metropolitan and regional, including many of Australia’s iconic independent bookshops. These stores are 100% independently owned and managed by people who care about their customers, books and the art of bookselling and, most importantly, the importance of fostering strong and vibrant Australian culture and writing.


Without sacrificing their unique identity, booksellers, members of Leading Edge Books, come together under the brand of Australian Independent Bookseller to promote their role in supporting the Australian book industry.


  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

© 2015 Australian Independent Bookseller.  All rights reserved.

Jane Harper WIN