INDIE BOOK AWARDS

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

© 2015 Australian Independent Bookseller.  All rights reserved.

Jane Harper- author of Force of Nature

Author Q&As

Tell us about your book – what inspired you to write it?

Force of Nature is an Australian mystery set in a remote bushland area. The story follows a group of five city women who reluctantly set off along a hiking track as part of a teambuilding exercise. Several days later, only four come out on the other side. My inspiration came in part from my own fear of becoming lost in the bushland, and I started to wonder what would change -- for better or worse -- if a group rather than an individual wandered from the path. I really enjoyed writing the mystery and suspense elements of my first novel, The Dry, and I wanted to capture that once again in a different, but distinctly Australian, setting.

 

 

Which book would you want to read again for the first time?

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I clearly remember reading that on a long-haul flight and being absolutely delighted by the twists. I enjoy re-reading books like because I usually get something different from them second time around, but unfortunately you can only be properly surprised by a twist once!

 

 

Which author/s living or dead would you like to have dinner with?

JK Rowling. When my daughter is older, I think she would be impressed and jealous.

 

What’s in your reading pile now?

I'm about to start Evan McHugh's RED CENTRE, DARK HEART which is a collection of true stories of mystery, drama and death in remote Australia. 

 

We know you are a talented writer, do you have any hidden talents?

I am just one exam away from achieving my Gold Latin dance medal. My husband and I started taking dance lessons as a hobby and before we knew what was happening we were working our way through the dance curriculum.

 

Can you tell us what you are working on now?

I'm currently working on my third novel which will once again be an Australian mystery set in a particularly atmospheric location. It is a story with a secret at its heart and one that I hope will appeal to readers who enjoyed The Dry and Force of Nature.