​Celebrating Australian literary talent

Good Australian writing needs good Australian bookshops to prosper. Without them Australian writers are one more endangered species whose bush has been bulldozed.

- Richard Flanagan, Indie Book Awards 2014 Book of the Year, 

The Narrow Road to the Deep North

There Was Still Love
Boy Swallows Universe
The Dry
The Natural Way of Things
The Bush
The Narrow Road to the Deep North
The Light Between Oceans
All That I Am
The Happies Refugee
Jasper Jones

Recognising and rewarding the best Australian writing as chosen by Australian independent booksellers. The Awards celebrate the enormous depth and range of literary talent in this nation. 

The Awards recognise titles in the following categories:​​

  • Indie Book Awards Book of the Year– Best Australian Book (chosen out of the following categories)

    • Category Winner – Fiction

    • Category Winner – Debut fiction

    • Category Winner – Non-fiction

    • Category Winner - Illustrated Non-fiction

    • Category Winner – Children’s books (up to 12 yo)

    • Category Winner –Young Adult fiction (12+)