top of page
  • AusIndieBooks

Longlist Announced for the 2019 Indie Book Awards

Australian independent booksellers, members of Leading Edge Books, are thrilled to announce their Longlist for the Indie Book Awards 2019!

The Indie Book Awards recognise and celebrate the indie booksellers as the number one supporters of Australian authors. Since the Awards inception in 2008, Indies have a well-deserved reputation for picking the best of the best in Australian writing. Past Book of the Year winners have gone on to be bestsellers and win other major literary awards. Previous winners include: Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend, The Dry by Jane Harper; The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood; The Bush by Don Watson; The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan; The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman; All That I Am by Anna Funder; The Happiest Refugee by Anh Do; Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey; and Breath by Tim Winton.

The Longlist for the Indie Book Awards 2019 is:


The Lost Man by Jane Harper (Macmillan Australia) The Fragments by Toni Jordan (Text Publishing) Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty (Macmillan Australia) The Clockmaker's Daughter by Kate Morton (Allen & Unwin) The Children's House by Alice Nelson (Penguin Random House Australia) Shell by Kristina Olsson (Scribner Australia) The Other Wife by Michael Robotham (Hachette Australia) Cedar Valley by Holly Throsby (Allen & Unwin) The Shepherd's Hut by Tim Winton (Penguin Random House Australia) Bridge of Clay by Markus Zusak (Picador Australia)


The Ship That Never Was by Adam Courtenay (ABC Books, HarperCollins Australia)

Boys Will be Boys by Clementine Ford (Allen & Unwin)

The Land Before Avocado by Richard Glover (ABC Books, HarperCollins Australia)

Butterfly on a Pin by Alannah Hill (Hardie Grant Books)

The Arsonist by Chloe Hooper (Penguin Random House Australia)

Eggshell Skull by Bri Lee (Allen & Unwin)

The Barefoot Investor for Families by Scott Pape (Barefoot Publishing)

Any Ordinary Day by Leigh Sales (Penguin Random House Australia)

Teacher by Gabbie Stroud (Allen & Unwin)

Axiomatic by Maria Tumarkin (Brow Books)


Flames by Robbie Arnott (Text Publishing)

The Helpline by Katherine Collette (Text Publishing)

Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton (HarperCollins Australia)

Scrublands by Chris Hammer (Allen & Unwin)

The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan (HarperCollins Australia)

The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris (Echo Publishing)

The Earth Does Not Get Fat by Julia Prendergast (UWA Publishing)

The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart by Holly Ringland (HarperCollins Australia)

The Lucky Galah by Tracy Sorensen (Picador Australia)

The Nowhere Child by Christian White (Affirm Press)


Special Guest by Annabel Crabb, Wendy Sharpe (Murdoch Books)

A Painted Landscape: Across Australia from Bush to Coast by Amber Creswell Bell (Thames & Hudson Australia)

The Great Australian Bucket List by Robin Esrock (Affirm Press)

Mirka & Georges by Lesley Harding, Kendrah Morgan (Melbourne University Publishing)

Marcia Langton: Welcome to Country by Marcia Langton (Hardie Grant Travel)

Bohemian Living: Creative Homes Around the World by Robyn Lea (Thames & Hudson Australia)

Smith & Deli-cious by Shannon Martinez & Mo Wyse (Hardie Grant Books)

Family: New vegetable classics to comfort and nourish by Hetty McKinnon (Plum)

Gardens on the Edge by Christine Reid (Murdoch Books)

Australian Dreamscapes by Claire Takacs (Hardie Grant Books)


All the Ways to be Smart by Davina Bell & Allison Colpoys (Illus) (Scribe Publications)

The Tales of Mr Walker by Jess Black & Sara Acton (Illus) (Penguin Random House Australia)

A-Z of Australian Animals by Jennifer Cossins (Hachette Australia)

Lenny's Book of Everything by Karen Foxlee (Allen & Unwin)

Claris: The Chicest Mouse in Paris by Megan Hess (Hardie Grant Egmont)

Jane Doe and the Cradle of All Worlds by Jeremy Lachlan (Hardie Grant Egmont)

Cicada by Shaun Tan (Hachette Australia)

Tales from the Inner City by Shaun Tan (Allen & Unwin)

Room on Our Rock by Kate & Jo Temple, Terri Rose Baynton (Illus) (Scholastic Australia)

Wundersmith: The Calling of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend (Hachette Australia)


Hive by A. J. Betts (Pan Australia)

Just Breathe by Andrew Daddo (Penguin Random House Australia)

Small Spaces by Sarah Epstein (Walker Books Australia)

Amelia Westlake by Erin Gough (Hardie Grant Egmont)

P is for Pearl by Eliza Henry Jones (HarperCollins Australia)

A Song Only I Can Hear by Barry Jonsberg (Allen & Unwin)

Obsidio: The Illuminae Files_03 by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (Allen & Unwin)

Lifel1k3 by Jay Kristoff (Allen & Unwin)

Catching Teller Crow by Ambelin Kwaymullina & Ezekiel Kwaymullina (Allen & Unwin)

Tin Heart by Shivaun Plozza (Penguin Random House Australia)

The Shortlist will be announced on 16 January 2019, with the Category Winners and the Overall Book of the Year Winner being announced at the Leading Edge Books Annual Conference Awards Dinner to be held on Monday 18 March, 2019 in Adelaide, SA.

The Indie Book Awards would like to gratefully acknowledge the 2019 Awards Sponsors: Peribo, Pan Macmillan Australia, Affirm Press, Allen & Unwin, Thames & Hudson Australia, Hardie Grant Egmont, Text Publishing and Awards partner: Books+Publishing.

bottom of page