A Who's Who of Australian literary talent

Since its inception twelve years ago, the Indie Books Awards have picked the best of the best as their Book of the Year winner. The following titles have won the Award:


Breath by Tim Winton
The Happiest Refugee by Anh Do
Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey 
All That I Am by Anna Funder
The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman
The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan
The Bush by Don Watson

The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood

The Dry by Jane Harper

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend

Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton

There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett


All of the Indie Book Award-winning authors have gone on to win other major literary prizes. In 2014, The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan won The Man Booker Prize for Fiction. In 2015, Don Watson's The Bush: Travels in the Heart of Australia won the Book of the Year in the 2015 NSW Premier's Literary Awards. In 2016, The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood won the 2016 Stella Prize.

Breath 9780241015308
The Happies Refugee
Jasper Jones
All That I Am
The Light Between Oceans
Narrow Raod to the Deep North
The Bush
The Natural Way Of Things
Boy Swallows Universe
There Was Still Love


  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

© 2015 Australian Independent Bookseller.  All rights reserved.