top of page
  • AusIndieBooks


Australian independent booksellers have nominated their favourite Australian books of 2023 and are thrilled to announce their SHORTLIST for the Indie Book Awards 2024!


Established in 2008, the Indie Book Awards celebrate the best Australian writing; and who better to nominate and judge the best-of-the-best than indie booksellers! What makes indie booksellers uniquely placed to judge and recommend the best Aussie books of the past year, is their incredible passion and knowledge, their contribution to the cultural diversity of the Australian reading public, by recommending beyond the big brands, and above all, their love of quality writing. The Awards recognise and celebrate indie booksellers as the number one supporters of Australian authors.


Leanne Kadareanu, Head of Books at Leading Edge Retail, proud facilitator of the awards says:

“This year’s shortlist showcases the diversity and breadth of Australian publishing. For book lovers seeking Australian stories and content, indie booksellers are the ultimate guides, handpicking the best of the best. These are this year’s favourites as chosen by the true champions and lovers of Australian writing – our independent booksellers.”


Announced early in the award calendar year, The Indie Book Awards are now considered the forerunners of all major Australian book awards. The Awards cover the best Australian books in six categories: Fiction, Non-Fiction, Debut Fiction, Illustrated Non-Fiction, Children’s books (up to 12yo) and Young Adult (12+).


The Category Winners and the Overall Book of the Year Winner will be announced at a virtual awards event on Monday 25 March 2024. 


Since the Awards inception, independent booksellers have a well-deserved reputation for picking the best of the best in Australian writing. Past Book of the Year winners have gone on to be bestsellers and win other major literary awards. Previous winners include: Runt by Craig Silvey, Love Stories by Trent Dalton; The Dictionary of Lost Words by Pip Williams; There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett; Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton; Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend; The Dry by Jane Harper; The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood; The Bush by Don Watson; The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan; The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman; All That I Am by Anna Funder; The Happiest Refugee by Anh Do; Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey; and Breath by Tim Winton.


The Shortlist for the Indie Book Awards 2024 is:


Lola in the Mirror by Trent Dalton (Fourth Estate Australia)

The Seven by Chris Hammer (Allen & Unwin)

Edenglassie by Melissa Lucashenko (University of Queensland Press)

The Bookbinder of Jericho by Pip Williams (Affirm Press)



Bright Shining by Julia Baird (Fourth Estate Australia)

Wifedom: Mrs Orwell's Invisible Life by Anna Funder (Hamish Hamilton)

The Remarkable Mrs Reibey by Grantlee Kieza (ABC Books, HarperCollins Australia)

Killing for Country: A Family Story by David Marr (Black Inc.)


Green Dot by Madeleine Gray (Allen & Unwin)

The Visitors by Jane Harrison (Fourth Estate Australia)

Lenny Marks Gets Away With Murder by Kerryn Mayne (Bantam Australia)

Salt River Road by Molly Schmidt (Fremantle Press)



Paul Bangay by Paul Bangay (Thames & Hudson Australia)

The New Modernist House by Patricia Callan (Thames & Hudson Australia)

The Bird Art of William T. Cooper by Wendy Cooper (National Library of Australia)

Good Life Growing by Hannah Moloney (Affirm Press)



Neil, the Amazing Sea Cucumber by Amelia McInerney, illustrated by Lucinda Gifford (Affirm Press)

The Impossible Secret of Lillian Velvet by Jaclyn Moriarty (Allen & Unwin Children's)

Silver Linings by Katrina Nannestad (ABC Books, HarperCollins Australia)

Kimmi by Favel Parrett (Hachette Australia)



Saltwater Boy by Bradley Christmas (Walker Books Australia)

Welcome to Sex by Dr Melissa Kang & Yumi Stynes (Hardie Grant Children's Publishing)

The Sinister Booksellers of Bath by Garth Nix (Allen & Unwin Children's)

Stuck Up & Stupid by Angourie Rice & Kate Rice (Walker Books Australia)

The Indie Book Awards would like to gratefully acknowledge the 2024 Awards Sponsors: HarperCollins Publishing, Allen & Unwin, Simon & Schuster Australia, Affirm Press, Thames & Hudson, Hachette Australia, Penguin Random House and Awards partner Pan Macmillan. 


bottom of page